The Ateneum is Finland’s best-known art museum and the home of Finnish art. The beloved works in Ateneum’s collections date from the period from the 19th century to the modern age.

In the Stories of Finnish Art collections exhibition, Finnish and international masterpieces are on display side by side. The hugely popular temporary exhibitions open up new perspectives into the past and the future. The collections of the Finnish Art Society, which was founded in 1846, form the basis for the Ateneum operations. Today, these collections are part of Finland’s national heritage.

The Ateneum has operated from its own building since 1888. Over the years, the building has seen celebrities from the past and present: up until the 1980s, the building housed an industrial arts school (currently the Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture) and the Drawing School of the Finnish Art Society (currently the Academy of Fine Arts, the University of the Arts Helsinki).

The Ateneum is home to events of all kinds: the museum organizes regular workshops, lectures, guided tours, and clubs. The Ateneum is part of the Finnish National Gallery, together with the Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma and Sinebrychoff Art Museum. Rediscover your favorite works of art and fall in love with new ones. Our doors are open to you in the heart of Helsinki. Welcome!

  • Experience the world-class temporary exhibitions.
  • See the most beloved artworks of Finland: The Convalescent by Helene Schjerfbeck (1888), The Wounded Angel by Hugo Simberg (1903), and Under the Yoke (Burning the Brushwood) by Eero Järnefelt (1893).
  • Enjoy the atmosphere of café-restaurant Ateneum Bistro.

How to get there:

- Tram 2, 3, 5, 6, 9
- Subway Central Railway Station

See The:
Full List Of Attractions Included

Year 2021
Monday Closed
Tuesday 10.00 – 18.00
Wednesday 10.00 – 20.00
Thursday 10.00 – 20.00
Friday 10.00 – 18.00
Saturday 10.00 – 17.00
Sunday 10.00 – 17.00

Closed:

Closed and exceptional opening hours. Please check the up-to-date details from Ateneum’s website

APRIL
Thu Apr 1: 10:00 – 17:00
Fri Apr 2: Closed
Sat Apr 3: 10:00 – 17:00
Sun Apr 4:10:00 – 17:00
Mon Apr 5: Closed
Mon Apr 13: closed
Fri Apr 30: 10:00 – 17:00

MAY
Sat May 1: Closed
Thu May 13: 10:00 – 17:00

JUNE
Thu Jun 24: 10:00 – 17:00
Fri Jun 25: Closed
Sat Jun 26: Closed
Sun Jun 27: 10:00 – 17:00

DECEMBER
Mon Dec 6: Closed
Thu Dec 23: 10:00 – 17:00
Fri Dec 24: Closed
Sat Dec 25: Closed
Sun Dec 26: 10:00 – 17:00
Fri Dec 31:10:00 – 17:00

Loading Map - Please wait...

Address:

Kaivokatu 2, Helsinki

Telephone:

+358 (0) 6122 5510